Speech-Language Pathology/SLP-PalCare-SIG

From Wikiversity
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Speech-Language Pathology in Palliative Care – Special Interest Group[edit | edit source]

Introduction[edit | edit source]

Speech-Language Pathology (SLP) in Palliative Care (PalCare) is a new and developing area of specialty which aims to provide appropriate SLP practice within palliative and end-of-life care services. While the profession of speech-language pathology/speech therapy has been in existence since the turn of the 20th Century, and palliative care has been practiced for centuries (in one form or another), nevertheless, the combination of the two disciplinary areas intersecting has often been intermittent and highly dependent upon a specific institutional context, rather than being systematically endorsed by any government regulations or professional association clinical practice guidelines (CPGs).

SLP-PalCare Focus[edit | edit source]

Speech-Language Pathology in Palliative Care Special Interest Group has a primary focus upon ten major areas in order to support SLPs in Palliative Care and redress the lack of SLP CPGs in Palliative Care:Chahda et al (2020)

  1. Encouraging, developing and/or conducting ongoing research and creating resources for SLPs working in Palliative Care.
  2. Educating health professions about the role of SLPs in PalCare.
  3. Establishing referral procedures for SLP intervention within PalCare.
  4. Integrating PalCare within SLP tertiary education.
  5. Promoting the education, consultation, supervision and mentoring of SLPs new to PalCare.
  6. Incorporating SLP observations and interventions into the overall multi-disciplinary/palliative care team goals.
  7. Focussing PalCare assessment and therapy to include both cognitive-communication and swallowing interventions.
  8. Integration of SLPs as a part of a practical, consultative and holistic PalCare approach.
  9. Encouraging professional self-care consideration for SLPs working in PalCare.
  10. The development of uniform SLP-PalCare CPGs

Research and Future Development[edit | edit source]

Based upon the findings of an increasing number of researchers [for example see the reviews of Chahda et al (2017) and Krikheli et al (2018) there is clearly a need for further research and increased scope of practice accompanied by the development of SLP clinical practice guidelines so as to enhance the multidisciplinary and holistic collaboration of SLPs within Palliative Care contexts.

The PCC4U (Palliative Care Curriculum for Undergraduates: https://pcc4u.org.au/) assists in providing resources for the trainng of undergradutes in palliative care and provides a number of resources incuding vdieo case studies: (access via: https://www.youtube.com/user/PCC4UProject/playlists) one of which mentions SLPs: (https://pcc4u.org.au/learning/modules/module4/m4_section3/m4_activity8/).

SLP-PalCare-SIG Representatives & Membership[edit | edit source]

To achieve the objective foci of SLPs within Palliative Care (as noted above) the formation of the 'Speech-Language Pathology and Palliative Care Special Interest Group' (SLP-PalCare-SIG) has been listed by Speech Pathology Australia (SPA) and currently involves representatives from a number of universities and clinical practices. There is no fee to be a member of the SLP-PalCare-SIG. Please email the secretary if you are interested in joining.

SLP-PalCare-SIG Members (Alphabetical by Surname):

  • [Chairperson] Assoc. Prof. Bernice Mathisen (Southern Cross University, AU: Bernice.Mathisen@scu.edu.au)
  • [Secretary] Dr. Lindsay Carey (La Trobe University, AU: Lindsay.Carey@latrobe.edu.au)
  • Dr. Valerie Adams (Southern Cross University & Food Solutions, Queensland, AU: Valerie.Adams@scu.edu.au).
  • Ms. Emily Austin (Plena Healthcare, AU: Emily.Austin@plenahealthcare.com.au)
  • Ms. Stephanie Bates (Eastern Health, Wantirna, Victoria, AU)
  • Ms. Rachael Brailey (Southport Health Precinct, Southport QLD: Rachael.Brailey@health.qld.gov.au)
  • Dr. Christa Carey-Sargeant (Victoria Department of Education and Training, Melbourne, AU)
  • Ms Danielle Carey (Alexandra Hospital, Alexandra, Victoria, AU: Danielle.Carey@adh.org.au)
  • Ms. Alexandra Carey (Montefiore Aged Care Services, Sydney, AU: ACarey@montefiore.org.au)
  • Ms. Chloe Carter (West Gippsland Healthcare Group, Warragu, Victorial, AU: chloe.carter@wghg.com.au)
  • Ms. Beth Causa (Wollongong Speech Pathology, NSW, AU: Beth@wollongongspeech.com.au).
  • Dr. Laura Chahda (University of Melbourne, Victoria, AU: Laura.Chahda@unimelb.edu.au)
  • Dr. Naomi Cocks (Curtin University, Western Australia, AU: Naomi.Cocks@curtin.edu.au)
  • Ms. Annabelle Dargeant (St. Vincent's Hospital, Victoria, AU: Annabelle.Dargeant@svha.org.au).
  • Ms. Lidia Davies (McKellar Centre, Barwon Health, Victoria, AU: Lidia.Davies@barwonhealth.org.au)
  • Ms. Philippa Friary (Auckland University, Auckland, NZ: philippa.friary@auckland.ac.nz)
  • Ms. Asta Fung (Orange Health Service, NSW, AU: Asta.Fung@health.nsw.gov.au)
  • Ms. Vanessa Greenberg (Broadmeadows Hospital, Victoria, AU: Vanessa.Greenberg@nh.org.au)
  • Ms. Sophie Griffin (St. Vincent's Hospital, Victoria, AU: Sophie.Griffin@svha.org.au).
  • Ms. Sarah Hammond (Mona Vale Hospital, Northern Sydney Local Health District, AU: Sarah.Hammond@health.nsw.gov.au)
  • Ms. Bec Healy (Speech Pathology, Bunderberg Hospital Queensland, AU: Rebecca.Healy3@health.qld.gov.au).
  • Ms. Renee Heard (Motor Neuron Disease Clinic, Barwon Health, Geelong, Victoria, AU: Renee.Heard@barwonhealth.org.au).
  • Ms. Nicky Jackson (Calvary Health Care Bethlehem, Parkdale, Vic: Nicole.Jackson@calvarycare.org.au).
  • Dr. Katherine Kelly (South Western Sydney Local Health District, NSW, AU: Katherine.Kelly2@health.nsw.gov.au)
  • Dr. Lillian Krikheli (La Trobe University, Melbourne, AU: L.Krikheli@latrobe.edu.au)
  • Ms. Rebecca Lamont (Western Health, Sunshine Victoria, AU: Rebecca.Lamont@wh.org.au)
  • Ms. Anna Marchant (Plena Healthcare, AU: Anna.Marchant@plenahealthcare.com.au)
  • Mr. Yris Simon Mendoza (Calvary Health Care Kogarah, NSW, AU: Yris.Simonmendoza@health.nsw.gov.au)
  • Ms. Bonnie Nichols (St. Vincent's Hospital, Victoria, AU: bonnie.nichols@svha.org.au).
  • Ms. Jennifer Petry (Neurological Rehabilitation Center, Wiesbaden, Germany, DE: Jennifer.Petry@stud.hawk.de)
  • Ms. Claire Radford (Children's Health, Queensland Hospital & Health Service, Queensland, AU: Claire.Radford@health.qld.gov.au)
  • Ms. Shanalee Perera (East Wimmera Health Service, Victoria, AU: Shanaleeperera@icloud.com)
  • Ass't Prof. Robin Pollens (Western Michigan University, Michigan, USA: Robin.Pollens@wmich.edu)
  • Ms. Oliva Purvis (Barossa Hills Fleurieu Local Health Network, South Australia: Olivia.Purvis@sa.gov.au)
  • Ms. Amy Rosenfeld (Southern District Health Board, New Zealand: Amy.Rosenfeld@southerndhb.govt.nz)
  • Mr. Andy Smidt (Speech Pathology, University of Sydney, NSW, AU: Andy.Smidt@sydney.edu.au)
  • Ms. Rebecca Smith (Speech Pathology Department, Townsville Hospital and Health Service, AU: Rebecca.Smith@health.qld.gov.au)
  • Dr. Amanda Stead (School of Communication Sciences and Disorders, Pacific University, US: Amanda.Stead@pacific.edu)
  • Ms. Amber Tester (Speech Pathology, Orbost Regional Health, Victoria, AU: Amber.Tester@orh.com.au)
  • Ms. Hanna Thompson (Casey Hospital - Monash Health, AU: Hannah.Thompson@monashhealth.org)
  • Prof. Travis Threats (St. Louis University, US: Travis.Threats@health.slu.edu)
  • Ms. Melissa Trinca (Hall and Prior Aged Care, Western Australia: mtrinca@hallprior.com.au)
  • Ms. Kelly Verheyen (Plena Healthcare, AU: Kelly.Verheyen@plenahealthcare.com.au)
  • Ms. Ashleigh Vidovich (Health, Western Australia, AU: Ashleigh.Vidovich@health.wa.gov.au)
  • Ms. Samantha White (Queensland Children’s Hospital, South Brisbane, AU: Samantha.White2@health.qld.gov.au).
  • Ms. Catherin Wilton (Yooralla, Allied Services and Wellbeing – North and East, Melbourne, AU: Catherine.Wilton@yooralla.com.au).
  • Ms. Ciara Winstanley (Tablelands Allied Health, Cairns, Queensland, AU: Ciara.Winstanley@health.qld.gov.au)
  • Ms. Rachel Wong (Latrobe Regional Hospital, Victoria, AU: RWong@lrh.com.au).
  • [Palliative Care Advisor: Associate Professor Bruce Rumbold,OAM: Palliative Care Unit, La Trobe University]

SLP-PalCare-SIG Activities[edit | edit source]

(1) Annual Meeting: SPA Conference 2022 (refer 3. below)[edit | edit source]

(2) "The Role of SLPs in Palliative Care: A Workshop – NSW"[edit | edit source]

Sponsor: Western Area Health, Orange New South Wales [POSTPONED]
Speaker: Dr. Bernice Mathisen, PhD.
(Associate Professor, Southern Cross University & Honorary Associate, Palliative Care Unit, La Trobe University)
Venue: Online TBA. Date: POSTPONED . Zoom Link: To be advised

See below for recommended workshop pre-reading:

Recommended Reading (Workshops 1 - 4): Adult Palliative Care

Paediatric Palliative Care

  • Krikheli, L., Mathisen, B. A., & Carey, L. B. (2018). Speech–language pathology in paediatric palliative care: A scoping review of role and practice. International Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, 20(5), 541-553.
  • Krikheli, L., Erickson, S., Carey, L. B., Carey‐Sargeant, C. L., & Mathisen, B. A. (2020). Perspectives of speech and language therapists in paediatric palliative care: An international exploratory study. International Journal of Language & Communication Disorders. Advance Online: https://doi.org/10.1111/1460-6984.12539

(3) National SPA Conference 2022: 'Beyond Borders' 22 - 25 MAY 2022 (Melbourne)[edit | edit source]

SPA-PalCareSIG 2022 Meeting: To Be Advised – Date/Time.
SPA Conference Link: https://www.speechpathologyaustralia.org.au/SPAConf2022

(4) ASHA Convention: Washington DC, USA. November 18-20, 2021"[edit | edit source]

To Be Advised Date/Time/Place: ASHA Convention: [[1]]

(5) 7th International Public Health Palliative Care Conference (2022): Bruges, Belgium.[edit | edit source]

"End of Life Research, Public Health and Palliative Care' Further details to be provided. [2][edit | edit source]

SLP-PalCare-SIG Communications / Twitter[edit | edit source]

For regular updates, please 'follow' our Twitter Account: https://twitter.com/SigSlp

SLP-PalCare-SIG Books and Chapters[edit | edit source]

  • Mathisen, B.A. & Carey, L.B. (2021: In press). Speech-Language Pathology and Palliative Care. London: SAGE Publishers.
  • Carey, L.B. & Mathisen, B.A. (2020). Spiritual Care for Allied Health Practice: A person-centered approach. London: Jessica Kingsley Press. https://www.jkp.com/aus/spiritual-care-for-allied-health-practice.html [This book is free to all SPA-PalCare-SIG members; please contact the Secretary]
  • Mathisen, B.A. & Threats, T. (2018). Speech-Language Pathology and Spiritual Care. In Carey, L.B. & Mathisen, B.A. (2020). Spiritual Care for Allied Health Practice: A person-centered approach. London: Jessica Kingsley Press. https://www.jkp.com/aus/spiritual-care-for-allied-health-practice.html

Recommended References[edit | edit source]

The following sources (in alphabetical order) are recommended reading regarding the role of SLPs in Palliative Care:

  • Chahda, L., Mathisen, B. A., & Carey, L. B. (2017). The role of speech-language pathologists in adult palliative care. International Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, 19(1), 58-68.
  • Chahda, L., Carey, L. B., Mathisen, B. A., & Threats, T. (2020). Speech-language pathologists and adult palliative care in Australia. International Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, [First Online] 1-13.
  • DeZeeuw, K., & Lalonde Myers, E. (2020). The Role of Speech-Language Pathologists in Medical Assistance in Dying: Canadian Experience to Inform Clinical Practice. Canadian Journal of Speech-Language Pathology & Audiology, 44(2).https://cjslpa.ca/detail.php?ID=1259&lang=en
  • Fong, R., Tsai, C., Wong, H., Yiu, O., & Luk, J. K. H. (2019). Speech therapy in palliative care and comfort feeding: Current practice and way ahead. Asian Journal of Gerontolology and Geriatrics, 142, 61-68. https://doi.org/10.12809/ajgg-2018-330-oa
  • Hanna, E., & Joel, A. (2005). End-of-Life Decision Making, Quality of Life, Enteral Feeding, and the Speech-Language Pathologist. Perspectives on Swallowing and Swallowing Disorders (Dysphagia), 14(3), 13-18. https://pubs.asha.org/doi/full/10.1044/sasd14.3.13
  • Hawksley, R., Ludlow, F., Buttimer, H., & Bloch, S. (2017). Communication disorders in palliative care: Investigating the views, attitudes and beliefs of speech and language therapists. International Journal of Palliative Nursing, 23, 543–551. doi: 10.12968/ijpn.2017.23.11.543.
  • Gravier, S. (2019). Palliative care and how evidence supports speech pathologists who care people at end of life. Speech Pathology Australia Speak Out. June, p. 20-21.
  • Kelly, K., Cumming, S., Corry, A., Gilsenan, K., Tamone, C., Vella, K., & Bogaardt, H. (2016). The role of speech-language pathologists in palliative care: Where are we now? A review of the literature. Progress in Palliative Care, 24(6), 315-323.
  • Kelly, K., Cumming, S., Kenny, B., Smith-Merry, J., & Bogaardt, H. (2018). Getting comfortable with “comfort feeding”: An exploration of legal and ethical aspects of the Australian speech-language pathologist’s role in palliative dysphagia care. International Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, 20(3), 371-379.
  • Krikheli, L., Mathisen, B. A., & Carey, L. B. (2018). Speech–language pathology in paediatric palliative care: A scoping review of role and practice. International Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, 20(5), 541-553.
  • Krikheli, L., Carey, L. B., Mathisen, B. A., Erickson, S., & Carey-Sargeant, C. (2018). Recommendations for Speech-Language Pathologists in Paediatric Palliative Care Teams (ReSP3CT):  A modified Delphi study protocol. BMJ Supportive & Palliative Care, Online First, 1-7. doi:10.1136/bmjspcare-2018-001667
  • Krikheli, L., Carey, L. B., Erickson, S., Carey‐Sargeant, C. L., & Mathisen, B. A. (2020). Recommendations for Speech-Language Pathologists in Paediatric Palliative Care (ReSP3CT): An International Modified Delphi Study. International Journal of Speech Language Pathology, Online: : https://doi.org/10.1080/17549507.2020.1866073
  • Krikheli, L., Erickson, S., Carey, L. B., Carey‐Sargeant, C. L., & Mathisen, B. A. (2020). Perspectives of speech and language therapists in paediatric palliative care: An international exploratory study. International Journal of Language & Communication Disorders. Online:https://doi.org/10.1111/1460-6984.12539
  • Krikheli, L., Erickson, S., Carey, L. B., Carey‐Sargeant, C. L., & Mathisen, B. A. (2020). Speech-Language Pathologists in Pediatric Palliative Care: An International Study of Perceptions and Experiences. American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology, 30(1), 150-168: https://doi.org/10.1044/2020_AJSLP-20-00090
  • Mahendra, N., & Alonso, M. (2020). Knowledge of palliative care and advance directives among speech–language pathology students. Topics in Language Disorders, 40(3), 248-263. doi: 10.1097/TLD.0000000000000224
  • Mathisen, B., Carey, L. B., Carey-Sargeant, C. L., Webb, G., Millar, C., & Krikheli, L. (2015). Religion, spirituality and speech-language pathology: A viewpoint for ensuring patient-centred holistic care. Journal of Religion and Health, 54(6), 2309–2323.
  • Mathisen, B.A., Yates, P., Crofts, P. (2010). Palliative care curriculum for speech-language pathology students. International Journal of Language and Communication Disorders. 46 (3), 273–285. https://doi.org/10.3109/13682822.2010.495739
  • Martins, S., & Castro Alves, S. (2017). Speech Therapy in Palliative Care—Portuguese Perspective. Journal of Palliative Medicine, 20(1), 7-7. https://doi.org/10.1089/jpm.2016.0407
  • O'Reilly, A.C. & Walshe, M. (2015). Perspectives on the role of the speech and language therapist in palliative care: An international survey. Palliative Medicine, 29(8), 756-761. https://doi.org/10.1177/0269216315575678
  • Pascoe, A., Breen, L.J., & Cocks, N. (2018). What is needed to prepare speech pathologists to work in palliative care?. International Journal of Language and Communication Disorders, 53(3), 542-549. https://doi.org/10.1111/1460-6984.12367
  • Pollens, R., Chahda, L., Freeman-Sanderson, A., Lalonde Myers, E., & Mathison, B. (2021). Supporting Crucial Conversations: Speech–Language Pathology Intervention in Palliative End-of-Life Care. Journal of Palliative Medicine, 24(7), 969-970. https://doi.org/10.1089/jpm.2021.0134
  • Pollens, R. (2020). Facilitating Client Ability to Communicate in Palliative End-of-Life Care: Impact of Speech-Language Pathologists. Topics in Language Disorders, 40 (3) , 264-277. https://doi.org/10.1097/TLD.0000000000000220
  • Pollens, R. (2012). Integrating speech-language pathology services in palliative end-of-life care. Topics in Language Disorders, 32, 137–148. doi:10.1097/TLD.0b013e3182543533.
  • Pollens, R. (2004). Role of the speech-language pathologist in palliative hospice care. Journal of Palliative Medicine, 7, 694–702. doi:10.1089/jpm.2004.7.694.
  • Stead, A., Dirks, K., Fryer, M., & Wong, S. (2020). Training Future Speech–Language Pathologists for Work in End-of-Life and Palliative Care. Topics in Language Disorders, 40(3), 233-247. doi: 10.1097/TLD.0000000000000219