Digital Media and Information in Society/Schedule/

From Wikiversity
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Week 1 beginning Mon 28 Aug

[edit | edit source]
Mon 28 Aug In-class Discussion Hello, World
Mon 28 Aug Schedule Conversation with the professor
Wed 30 Aug In-class Workshop Introduction to Brightspace, Wikipedia & Wikiversity
Wed 30 Aug Wikiedu Week 1 - Assignment 1-Sign up for the course in Wikipedia
Thu 31 Aug Discussion Extension Assignment Hello, World
Fri 01 Sep Wikiedu Week 1 - Assignment 2-Start a class journal on Wikiversity
Fri 01 Sep Wikiedu Week 1 - Assignment 3-Get started on Wikipedia and Wikiversity

Week 2 beginning Mon 04 Sep

[edit | edit source]
Mon 04 Sep Schedule Conversation with the professor
Wed 06 Sep In-class Workshop Wikiversity and Wikipedia Pages and Magic Words
Fri 08 Sep Wikiedu Week 2 - Assignment 4-Evaluate Wikipedia article
Fri 08 Sep Wikiedu Week 2 - Assignment 5-Make a small edit
Fri 08 Sep Wikiedu Week 2 - Assignment 6-Copyedit an article

Week 3 beginning Mon 11 Sep

[edit | edit source]
Mon 11 Sep In-class Discussion Media and Information Ages
Mon 11 Sep Schedule Conversation with the professor
Wed 13 Sep In-class Workshop Exploring Natural Language Models: Asking Questions About ChatGPT
Thu 14 Sep Discussion Extension Assignment Media and Information Ages
Fri 15 Sep Wikiedu Week 3 - Assignment 7-Collaborate with ChatGPT in a conversation about possible topics

Week 4 beginning Mon 18 Sep

[edit | edit source]
Mon 18 Sep In-class Discussion Orality
Mon 18 Sep Schedule Conversation with the professor
Wed 20 Sep In-class Workshop Starting conversations about possible topics for wikipedia articles
Thu 21 Sep Discussion Extension Assignment Orality
Fri 22 Sep Wikiedu Week 4 - Assignment 8-Choose possible topics

Week 5 beginning Mon 25 Sep

[edit | edit source]
Mon 25 Sep In-class Discussion Early Literacy and the Manuscript Age
Mon 25 Sep Schedule Conversation with the professor
Wed 27 Sep In-class Discussion Later Literacy and the Age of Printing
Thu 28 Sep Discussion Extension Assignment Early Literacy and the Manuscript Age
Thu 28 Sep Discussion Extension Assignment Later Literacy and the Age of Printing
Fri 29 Sep Wikiedu Week 5 - Assignment 9-Collaborate with ChatGPT in a conversation about a specific topic

Week 6 beginning Mon 02 Oct

[edit | edit source]
Mon 02 Oct In-class Discussion Telegraphic and Telephonic
Mon 02 Oct Schedule Conversation with the professor
Wed 04 Oct In-class Workshop Quotes, citations and references
Thu 05 Oct Discussion Extension Assignment Telegraphic and Telephonic
Fri 06 Oct Wikiedu Week 6 - Assignment 10-Finalize your topic and find sources

Week 7 beginning Mon 09 Oct

[edit | edit source]
Mon 09 Oct Schedule Conversation with the professor
Wed 11 Oct In-class Workshop Editing, paragraph types and images in Mediawiki
Fri 13 Oct Wikiedu Week 7 - Assignment 11-Start drafting contributions

Week 8 beginning Mon 16 Oct

[edit | edit source]
Mon 16 Oct In-class Discussion Broadcasting
Mon 16 Oct Schedule Conversation with the professor
Wed 18 Oct In-class Discussion Pre-Web
Thu 19 Oct Discussion Extension Assignment Broadcasting
Thu 19 Oct Discussion Extension Assignment Pre-Web
Fri 20 Oct Wikiedu Week 8 - Assignment 12-Continue improving your article

Week 9 beginning Mon 23 Oct

[edit | edit source]
Mon 23 Oct In-class Discussion Participatory Web
Mon 23 Oct Schedule Conversation with the professor
Wed 25 Oct In-class Workshop Exploring Natural Language Models
Thu 26 Oct Discussion Extension Assignment Participatory Web

Week 10 beginning Mon 30 Oct

[edit | edit source]
Mon 30 Oct In-class Discussion Social Web
Mon 30 Oct Schedule Conversation with the professor
Wed 01 Nov In-class Workshop Moving work to Wikipedia and peer reviewing
Thu 02 Nov Discussion Extension Assignment Social Web
Fri 03 Nov Wikiedu Week 10 - Assignment 13-Peer review two articles

Week 11 beginning Mon 06 Nov

[edit | edit source]
Mon 06 Nov In-class Discussion Advanced AI Models and the Semantic Web
Mon 06 Nov Schedule Conversation with the professor
Wed 08 Nov In-class Discussion Web 4.0
Thu 09 Nov Discussion Extension Assignment Advanced AI Models and the Semantic Web
Fri 10 Nov Wikiedu Week 11 - Assignment 14-Respond to your peer review

Week 12 beginning Mon 13 Nov

[edit | edit source]
Mon 13 Nov In-class Discussion Post-cybernetic: Human-Machine Integration
Mon 13 Nov Schedule Conversation with the professor
Wed 15 Nov In-class Discussion Post Cybernetic (Generalized Artificial Intelligence
Fri 17 Nov Wikiedu Week 12 - Assignment 15-Begin moving your work to Wikipedia

Week 13 beginning Mon 20 Nov

[edit | edit source]
Mon 20 Nov In-class Discussion Post-cybernetic: The Singularity
Mon 20 Nov Schedule Conversation with the professor

Week 14 beginning Mon 27 Nov

[edit | edit source]
Mon 27 Nov In-class Discussion Reprise: Media and Information Ages
Mon 27 Nov Schedule Conversation with the professor
Wed 29 Nov In-class Workshop Exploring Natural Language Models
Fri 01 Dec Wikiedu Week 14 - Assignment 16-Polish your work

Week 15 beginning Mon 04 Dec

[edit | edit source]
Mon 04 Dec Schedule Conversation with the professor
Fri 08 Dec Wikiedu Week 15 - Assignment 17-Final article

Week 16 beginning Mon 11 Dec

[edit | edit source]
Mon 11 Dec Schedule Conversation with the professor