Radiation astronomy/Courses/Principles/Syllabus/Spring

From Wikiversity
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Samples from comet Wild 2 have been returned to Earth by NASA's Stardust spacecraft. Credit: Erica Hupp/ Merrilee Fellows and William Jeffs, NASA.

For those wishing to take a formally structured undergraduate university semester-length course, this is the Spring offering for principles of radiation astronomy. Resource titles here are conventional although the actual resource may appear slightly different. For example, X-ray astronomy has been changed to Radiation astronomy/X-rays which is a suggestion for naming resources. See Wikiversity:Naming conventions which is a proposal. There are no consensus approves naming conventions at Wikiversity. Re-directs will automatically take you to each resource.

General course details may be found at the Syllabus.

"Scientists have found minerals formed near the sun or other stars in the samples returned to Earth by NASA's Stardust spacecraft in January [2006]."[1]

"The interesting thing is we are finding these high-temperature minerals in materials from the coldest place in the solar system."[2]

"We have found very high-temperature minerals, which supports a particular model where strong bipolar jets coming out of the early sun propelled material formed near to the sun outward to the outer reaches of the solar system."[3]

"It seems that comets are not composed entirely of volatile rich materials but rather are a mixture of materials formed at all temperature ranges, at places very near the early sun and at places very remote from it."[3]

Spring hits for 30 d period[edit | edit source]

For some 219 course resources such as laboratories (L), keynote lectures, lectures, lessons, problems, or quizzes, the total hits over the 219 elements was 9302 for the last full week in February combined with the first full three weeks in March.

The breakdown per course elements was laboratories (L), 1.96 %, lectures, 76.1 %, lessons, 4.38 %, problems, 2.57 %, or quizzes, 14.9 %.

Highest individual course element is Mathematical astronomy at 1,007.

Modifications in progress[edit | edit source]

Some resources may produce a search window after clicking on them. Simply back click, copy the name of the resource shown and put it in the search window. The resource will pop up so you can click on it and be taken right to it.

Here's an example: Original research/Radiation astronomy.

January 6, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

January 7, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

January 8, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

January 9, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

  • Problem set: Energy phantoms, solutions including work steps due on January 16, 2020.

January 10, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

January 13, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

January 14, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

  • Laboratory: Cratering, report is due on January 21, 2020.

January 15, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

January 16, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

January 17, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

January 20, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

January 21, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

January 22, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

January 23, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

January 24, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

January 27, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

January 28, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

January 29, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

January 30, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

January 31, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

February 3, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

February 4, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

February 5, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

February 6, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

February 7, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

February 10, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

February 11, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

  • Laboratory: Galaxies, report is due on February 18, 2020.
  • Hourly: Principles of radiation astronomy/Hourly 1 for lectures 1-16. Questions may include quiz section lectures, lessons, problem sets, and laboratories up to today but not today's laboratory or quiz section lecture.

February 12, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

February 13, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

February 14, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

February 17, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

February 18, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

February 19, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

February 20, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

  • Problem set: Unusual units, solutions including work steps due on February 27, 2020.

February 21, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

February 24, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

February 25, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

February 26, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

February 27, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

February 28, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

March 2, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

March 3, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

  • Laboratory: Meteorites, report is due on March 10, 2020.

This quiz is for lectures up through and including optical astronomy (1-24), the prior weeks laboratories, quiz section lectures from the course beginning through and including interplanetary medium, lessons and problem sets through and including those due previously to today.

March 4, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

March 5, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

March 6, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

March 9, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

March 10, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

March 11, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

March 12, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

  • Problem set: Cosmic circuits, solutions including work steps due on March 19, 2020.

March 13, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

March 16, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

March 17, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

March 18, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

March 19, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

  • Problem set: Column densities, solutions including work steps due on March 26, 2020.

March 20, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

March 23, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

March 24, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

March 25, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

March 26, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

March 27, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

March 30, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

March 31, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

April 1, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

April 2, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

April 3, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

April 6, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

April 7, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

April 8, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

April 9, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

April 10, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

April 13, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

April 14, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

April 15, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

April 16, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

  • Problem set: Radiation dosage, solutions including work steps due on April 23, 2020.

April 17, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

April 20, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

April 21, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

April 22, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

April 23, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

  • Problem set: Star jumping, solutions including work steps due on April 30, 2020.

April 24, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

April 27, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

April 28, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

  • Hourly: Principles of radiation astronomy/Hourly 3 for lectures 33-48, including quiz section lectures, lessons (except the last one), problem sets (except the last one), and laboratories not included in the first two hourlies.

April 29, 2020, Wednesday[edit | edit source]

April 30, 2020, Thursday[edit | edit source]

May 1, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

May 4, 2020, Monday[edit | edit source]

May 5, 2020, Tuesday[edit | edit source]

May 15, 2020, Friday[edit | edit source]

Alternate examinations that may be used by your college or university for credit (and a grade) in this course will be available from Wikiversity by courier for closed, proctored session testing of proficiency.

Hypotheses[edit | edit source]

  1. Courses offered in the Spring have higher student participation than ones offered in the Fall.

See also[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Erica Hupp, Merrilee Fellows and William Jeffs (January 2006). NASA's Stardust Findings May Alter View of Comet Formation. Pasadena, California USA: NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Retrieved 2016-11-22.
  2. Donald Brownlee (January 2006). NASA's Stardust Findings May Alter View of Comet Formation. Pasadena, California USA: NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Retrieved 2016-11-22.
  3. 3.0 3.1 Michael Zolensky (January 2006). NASA's Stardust Findings May Alter View of Comet Formation. Pasadena, California USA: NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Retrieved 2016-11-22.

External links[edit | edit source]

{{Charge ontology}}{{Chemistry resources}}{{Physics resources}}

{{Radiation astronomy resources}}{{Technology resources}}