Radiation astronomy/Courses/Principles/Syllabus/Fall

From Wikiversity
Jump to navigation Jump to search
This is an infrared composite of Uranus obtained with Keck Observatory adaptive optics. Credit: Lawrence Sromovsky, University of Wisconsin-Madison/ W. M. Keck Observatory.

For those wishing to take a formally structured undergraduate university semester-length course, this is the Fall offering for principles of radiation astronomy.

General course details may be found at the Syllabus.

Contents

August 20, 2018, Monday[edit]

August 21, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

August 22, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

August 23, 2018, Thursday[edit]

  • Problem set: Energy phantoms, solutions including work steps due on August 30, 2018.

August 24, 2018, Friday[edit]

August 27, 2018, Monday[edit]

August 28, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

  • Laboratory: Cratering, report is due on September 4, 2018.

August 29, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

August 30, 2018, Thursday[edit]

August 31, 2018, Friday[edit]

September 3, 2018, Monday[edit]

September 4, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

September 5, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

September 6, 2018, Thursday[edit]

September 7, 2018, Friday[edit]

September 10, 2018, Monday[edit]

September 11, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

September 12, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

September 13, 2018, Thursday[edit]

September 14, 2018, Friday[edit]

September 17, 2018, Monday[edit]

September 18, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

September 19, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

September 20, 2018, Thursday[edit]

September 21, 2018, Friday[edit]

September 24, 2018, Monday[edit]

September 25, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

  • Laboratory: Galaxies, report is due on November 2, 2018.
  • Hourly: Principles of radiation astronomy/Hourly 1 for lectures 1-16. Questions may include quiz section lectures, lessons, problem sets, and laboratories up to today but not today's laboratory or quiz section lecture.

September 26, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

September 27, 2018, Thursday[edit]

September 28, 2018, Friday[edit]

October 1, 2018, Monday[edit]

October 2, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

October 3, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

October 4, 2018, Thursday[edit]

  • Problem set: Unusual units, solutions including work steps due on October 11, 2018.

October 5, 2018, Friday[edit]

October 8, 2018, Monday[edit]

October 9, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

October 10, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

October 11, 2018, Thursday[edit]

October 12, 2018, Friday[edit]

October 15, 2018, Monday[edit]

October 16, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

  • Laboratory: Meteorites, report is due on October 23, 2018.

This quiz is for lectures up through and including optical astronomy (1-24), the prior weeks laboratories, quiz section lectures from the course beginning through and including interplanetary medium, lessons and problem sets through and including those due previously to today.

October 17, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

October 18, 2018, Thursday[edit]

October 19, 2018, Friday[edit]

October 22, 2018, Monday[edit]

October 23, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

October 24, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

October 25, 2018, Thursday[edit]

  • Problem set: Cosmic circuits, solutions including work steps due on November 1, 2018.

October 26, 2018, Friday[edit]

October 29, 2018, Monday[edit]

October 30, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

October 31, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

November 1, 2018, Thursday[edit]

  • Problem set: Column densities, solutions including work steps due on November 8, 2018.

November 2, 2018, Friday[edit]

November 5, 2018, Monday[edit]

November 6, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

November 7, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

November 8, 2018, Thursday[edit]

November 9, 2018, Friday[edit]

November 12, 2018, Monday[edit]

November 13, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

November 14, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

November 15, 2018, Thursday[edit]

  • Problem set: Planck's equation, solutions including work steps due on November 22, 2018.

November 16, 2018, Friday[edit]

November 19, 2018, Monday[edit]

November 20, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

November 21, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

November 22, 2018, Thursday[edit]

November 23, 2018, Friday[edit]

November 26, 2018, Monday[edit]

November 27, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

November 28, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

November 29, 2018, Thursday[edit]

  • Problem set: Radiation dosage, solutions including work steps due on December 6, 2018.

November 30, 2018, Friday[edit]

December 3, 2018, Monday[edit]

December 4, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

December 5, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

December 6, 2018, Thursday[edit]

  • Problem set: Star jumping, solutions including work steps due on December 13, 2018.

December 7, 2018, Friday[edit]

December 10, 2018, Monday[edit]

December 11, 2018, Tuesday[edit]

  • Hourly: Principles of radiation astronomy/Hourly 3 for lectures 33-48, including quiz section lectures, lessons (except the last one), problem sets (except the last one), and laboratories not included in the first two hourlies.

December 12, 2018, Wednesday[edit]

December 13, 2018, Thursday[edit]

December 14, 2018, Friday[edit]

December 21, 2018, Friday[edit]

Alternate examinations that may be used by your college or university for credit (and a grade) in this course will be available from Wikiversity by courier for closed, proctored session testing of proficiency.

Hypotheses[edit]

Main source: Hypotheses
  1. By subpaging as many of the lectures in this course as possible under radiation astronomy the overall popularity of the course, or lecture set, can be compared with other lecture sets here at Wikiversity.

See also[edit]

External links[edit]

{{Astronomy resources}}{{Charge ontology}}{{Chemistry resources}}{{Physics resources}}{{Principles of radiation astronomy}}{{Technology resources}}