Radiation astronomy/Courses/Principles/Syllabus/Spring

From Wikiversity
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Samples from comet Wild 2 have been returned to Earth by NASA's Stardust spacecraft. Credit: Erica Hupp/ Merrilee Fellows and William Jeffs, NASA.

For those wishing to take a formally structured undergraduate university semester-length course, this is the Spring offering for principles of radiation astronomy. Resource titles here are conventional although the actual resource may appear slightly different. For example, X-ray astronomy has been changed to Radiation astronomy/X-rays which is a suggestion for naming resources. See Wikiversity:Naming conventions which is a proposal. There are no consensus approves naming conventions at Wikiversity. Re-directs will automatically take you to each resource.

General course details may be found at the Syllabus.

"Scientists have found minerals formed near the sun or other stars in the samples returned to Earth by NASA's Stardust spacecraft in January [2006]."[1]

"The interesting thing is we are finding these high-temperature minerals in materials from the coldest place in the solar system."[2]

"We have found very high-temperature minerals, which supports a particular model where strong bipolar jets coming out of the early sun propelled material formed near to the sun outward to the outer reaches of the solar system."[3]

"It seems that comets are not composed entirely of volatile rich materials but rather are a mixture of materials formed at all temperature ranges, at places very near the early sun and at places very remote from it."[3]

Contents

Spring hits for 30 d period[edit]

For some 219 course resources such as laboratories (L), keynote lectures, lectures, lessons, problems, or quizzes, the total hits over the 219 elements was 9302 for the last full week in February combined with the first full three weeks in March.

The breakdown per course elements was laboratories (L), 1.96 %, lectures, 76.1 %, lessons, 4.38 %, problems, 2.57 %, or quizzes, 14.9 %.

Highest individual course element is Mathematical astronomy at 1,007.

January 7, 2019, Monday[edit]

January 8, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

January 9, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

January 10, 2019, Thursday[edit]

  • Problem set: Energy phantoms, solutions including work steps due on January 17, 2019.

January 11, 2019, Friday[edit]

January 14, 2019, Monday[edit]

January 15, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

  • Laboratory: Cratering, report is due on January 22, 2019.

January 16, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

January 17, 2019, Thursday[edit]

January 18, 2019, Friday[edit]

January 21, 2019, Monday[edit]

January 22, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

January 24, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

January 24, 2019, Thursday[edit]

January 25, 2019, Friday[edit]

January 28, 2019, Monday[edit]

January 29, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

January 30, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

January 31, 2019, Thursday[edit]

February 1, 2019, Friday[edit]

February 4, 2019, Monday[edit]

February 5, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

February 6, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

February 7, 2019, Thursday[edit]

February 8, 2019, Friday[edit]

February 11, 2019, Monday[edit]

February 12, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

  • Laboratory: Galaxies, report is due on February 19, 2019.
  • Hourly: Principles of radiation astronomy/Hourly 1 for resources 1-16. Questions may include quiz section resources, lessons, problem sets, and laboratories up to today but not today's laboratory or quiz section resource.

February 13, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

February 14, 2019, Thursday[edit]

February 15, 2019, Friday[edit]

February 18, 2019, Monday[edit]

February 19, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

February 20, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

February 21, 2019, Thursday[edit]

  • Problem set: Unusual units, solutions including work steps due on February 28, 2019.

February 22, 2019, Friday[edit]

February 25, 2019, Monday[edit]

February 26, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

February 27, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

February 28, 2019, Thursday[edit]

March 1, 2019, Friday[edit]

March 4, 2019, Monday[edit]

March 5, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

  • Laboratory: Meteorites, report is due on March 12, 2019.

This quiz is for resources up through and including violet astronomy (1-24), the prior weeks laboratories, quiz section resources from the course beginning through and including interplanetary medium, lessons and problem sets through and including those due previously to today.

March 6, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

March 7, 2019, Thursday[edit]

March 8, 2019, Friday[edit]

March 11, 2019, Monday[edit]

March 12, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

March 13, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

March 14, 2019, Thursday[edit]

  • Problem set: Cosmic circuits, solutions including work steps due on March 21, 2019.

March 15, 2019, Friday[edit]

March 18, 2019, Monday[edit]

March 19, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

March 20, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

March 21, 2019, Thursday[edit]

  • Problem set: Column densities, solutions including work steps due on March 28, 2019.

March 22, 2019, Friday[edit]

March 25, 2019, Monday[edit]

March 26, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

March 27, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

March 28, 2019, Thursday[edit]

  • Problem set: Spectrographs, solutions including work steps due on April 4, 2019.

March 29, 2019, Friday[edit]

April 1, 2019, Monday[edit]

April 2, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

April 3, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

April 4, 2019, Thursday[edit]

  • Problem set: Planck's equation, solutions including work steps due on April 11, 2019.

April 5, 2019, Friday[edit]

April 8, 2019, Monday[edit]

April 9, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

April 10, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

April 11, 2019, Thursday[edit]

April 12, 2019, Friday[edit]

April 15, 2019, Monday[edit]

April 16, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

April 17, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

April 18, 2019, Thursday[edit]

  • Problem set: Radiation dosage, solutions including work steps due on April 25, 2019.

April 19, 2019, Friday[edit]

April 22, 2019, Monday[edit]

April 23, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

April 24, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

April 25, 2019, Thursday[edit]

  • Problem set: Star jumping, solutions including work steps due on May 2, 2019.

April 26, 2019, Friday[edit]

April 29, 2019, Monday[edit]

April 30, 2019, Tuesday[edit]

  • Hourly: Principles of radiation astronomy/Hourly 3 for resources 33-48, including quiz section resources, lessons (except the last one), problem sets (except the last one), and laboratories not included in the first two hourlies.

May 1, 2019, Wednesday[edit]

May 2, 2019, Thursday[edit]

May 3, 2019, Friday[edit]

May 10, 2019, Friday[edit]

Alternate examinations that may be used by your college or university for credit (and a grade) in this course will be available from Wikiversity by courier for closed, proctored session testing of proficiency.

Hypotheses[edit]

  1. Courses offered in the Spring have higher student participation than ones offered in the Fall.

See also[edit]

References[edit]

  1. Erica Hupp, Merrilee Fellows and William Jeffs (January 2006). NASA's Stardust Findings May Alter View of Comet Formation. Pasadena, California USA: NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Retrieved 2016-11-22.
  2. Donald Brownlee (January 2006). NASA's Stardust Findings May Alter View of Comet Formation. Pasadena, California USA: NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Retrieved 2016-11-22.
  3. 3.0 3.1 Michael Zolensky (January 2006). NASA's Stardust Findings May Alter View of Comet Formation. Pasadena, California USA: NASA/Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Retrieved 2016-11-22.

External links[edit]

{{Radiation astronomy resources}}{{Charge ontology}}{{Chemistry resources}}{{Physics resources}}

{{Technology resources}}