Astronomy college course/Journal Sp15

From Wikiversity
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Category:Physics equations/Journals

Contents

Links found while teaching this course[edit]

Monday, January 12, 2015[edit]

Use internet to find astronomical ratios.

Guess how much larger is the sun compared to earth. I think the sun's radius equals 300 earth radii. Looking it up, the radius of the Sun is xxx earth radii.

Earth is about x solar radii from the sun.

Guess= Answer =

The astronomical unit (AU) is the distance from the sun to earth.

Neptune is xxx AU from the Sun. Guess= ____   Answer = ____  

A light year is xxx AU. Guess= ____   Answer = ____  

Tuesday, January 13, 2015[edit]

Lecture: Option of doing journal online via wikiversity. Mentioned importance of measurements using the issue of how we know stars are like the sun. We cannot use angular size because they are to "small" (in angular size) for telescopes to resolve. Instead we must use, for example, absorption spectra associaed with the star's atmosphere blocking light of certain wavelengths. These lines appeared on photographic plates are measured using a ruler!

45' lab: Angular size. Use protractor to measure theta, radius, and arclength. Got errors between .24 and .01 degrees.

Wednesday, January 14, 2015[edit]

Mil estimation.jpg
Lecture: Look at the pictures in Astronomy (Wikipedia)
3/4 h lab: We need a wiki that shows angle like this website. What is a mil?

Formula for unit conversion: Let "theta" be the angle and use subscripts to distinguish between the different units: deg=degree, rad=radian, mil =milliradian (as opposed to millimeter or milli-inch).

Theta in radians minimalistic.svg

: where r is arclength and r is radius. To convert units, we adopt the following "formulas":

Thursday, January 15, 2015[edit]

Played with celestrial sphere: oriented, found ecliptic and set to current date and time.

Friday, January 16, 2015[edit]

One hour lab on using hand to estimate angular size. Reported in spreadsheet for one degree estimate using little finger.

Tuesday, January 20, 2015[edit]

Lecture: Finished Wikipedia's Astronomy article.

1/2 hour lab: angle measurement 10 degreess lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Wednesday, January 21, 2015[edit]

Lecture:

1/2 hour lab,   angle measurement 10 degrees lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Thursday, January 22, 2015[edit]

3/4 hours lab,   Wikiversity documentation of angular measurement (Intro) Is open hand or closed fist a better estimate of 10 degrees? Results reported in [[Physics and Astronomy Labs/Angular size]]

Friday, January 23, 2015[edit]

1 hour lab: Bead drop experiment (failed). Happy and sad balls (physics).

Monday, January 26, 2015[edit]

45 minute lab. Bead drop experiment. Also look at recent developments on angular size project.

Tuesday, January 27, 2015[edit]

.5 hour lab Observed phases using styrofoam ball and overhead projector. Discussed the idea of doing a "best fit" to analyze the bead drop experiment. Also assigned a 1/2 hour take home lab: Document this experiment in a way that can crontibute to a Wikiversity page on this lab.

Wednesday, January 28, 2015[edit]

No lab. Test day.

Thursday, January 29, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   One hour lab.,   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: analyze (sound) data from bead drop. Due Monday before class (or earlier) an optional 1/2 hour "lab": Write abstract for [[Physics and Astronomy Labs/Beads on string drop]] in your abstract, assume:

  • the person is science teacher
  • already knows about gravity and free fall
  • no equations.

Friday, January 30, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,  

  • Half hour lab first: [[Physics_and_Astronomy_Labs/Beads_on_string_drop#Where_did_we_situate_those_paperclips.3F|Where did we situate those paperclips?]
  • Half hour lecture: Help with phases of the moon.

Monday, February 02, 2015[edit]

Tuesday, February 03, 2015[edit]

1/2 hour lab on Young's modulus. Important because of paperclip drop experiment.

Wednesday, February 04, 2015[edit]

1 hour lab. Measuring parallax in the hall.

Thursday, February 05, 2015[edit]

30 minute lab. Found error in parallax measurement and attempted to pose for photograph of students taking data.

Friday, February 06, 2015[edit]

One hour lab reinacting Bell's Theorem. (Part 1)

Monday, February 09, 2015[edit]

  • 45 minute lab : radioactive decay.
  • Lecture: Motion of the Sun through the zodiac and apparent retrograde motion. Looked at NASA video.

Tuesday, February 10, 2015[edit]

  • 0.5 Hour Lab: Sketch image for estimating how long an earth-crossing asteroid would take to probably (possibly) hit Earth.

Wednesday, February 11, 2015[edit]

1/2 hour lab: Write introduction for radioactive decay experiment. Also worked on flip camera and a drawing for radioactive decay.

Thursday, February 12, 2015[edit]

One hour lab '.

  • Students who could not finish took it home.

Announcement: No more than 15% of the next test will involve the advanced lunar quizzes. About 15% will cover the less advanced lunar questions.

Friday, February 13, 2015[edit]

1 h? lkw

Monday, February 16, 2015[edit]

1 hour lab Beethoven Fugue and uncertainty

Tuesday, February 17, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Wednesday, February 18, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Thursday, February 19, 2015[edit]

1 hour lab with c

Friday, February 20, 2015[edit]

1 hour lab on inkscape: Compton scattering and Heisenberg's microscope.

Monday, February 23, 2015[edit]

One hour lab on entropy, standard error, and something else.

Tuesday, February 24, 2015[edit]

1 hour lab. Learned to write on wikis. Practice quiz from Nebraska University on HR diagram.

Wednesday, February 25, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Thursday, February 26, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Friday, February 27, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   1 hour,   Astro: wikiquizzes

Monday, March 09, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Tuesday, March 10, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Wednesday, March 11, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Thursday, March 12, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Friday, March 13, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Monday, March 16, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours = 0.5 to 1.5,   Astro:

Ray diagram and thin lens equation

Tuesday, March 17, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Wednesday, March 18, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Thursday, March 19, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Friday, March 20, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Monday, March 23, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Tuesday, March 24, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Wednesday, March 25, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Thursday, March 26, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Friday, March 27, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Monday, March 30, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Tuesday, March 31, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Wednesday, April 01, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Thursday, April 02, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Friday, April 03, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Monday, April 06, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Tuesday, April 07, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Wednesday, April 08, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Thursday, April 09, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Friday, April 10, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Monday, April 13, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Tuesday, April 14, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Wednesday, April 15, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Thursday, April 16, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Friday, April 17, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Monday, April 20, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Tuesday, April 21, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Wednesday, April 22, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Thursday, April 23, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.

Friday, April 24, 2015[edit]

Last,   First,   (initial),   Date,   # lab hours,   Astro: Briefly describe todays lab; enter more details into your lab journal.